Swimming thus far…

Mackenzie’s First Swimming Update:

Yesterday, I competed in my first meet since NEWMACs! I traveled with my club team, the Yawama Dragons, down to Albany, Oregon to compete in their June Invitational.  I swam the 1500 meters on Friday night with a 21:05.00 (or something like that). In other words, it converts to  slow. I’m still in the process of getting back into racing, so it was to be expected. I also swam the 400 free and 100 back, but no one needs to know those times.

Usually, the Oregon State University women’s team shows up to swim at this meet, but it was a bit of a different story this year (my oldest competition was 13 years old). It was a bit of a blow to the ego to be racing against 12 and 13 year olds, as opposed to my dear Bananas back at Smith, but I think I will recover from being beaten by a swimmer seven years my junior…

For this summer, the goal was just to keep in some sort of swimming shape, and I know Emma’s doing the best she can too while she’s away from the pool. We’ll see if she can post something next weekend when she has internet access to update everyone on what she’s up to!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment